25 Apr 2021

What are the Pillars of Prayer (Salah)?

Pillars of Prayer (Salah)


What are the pillars of prayer (salah) without them the prayer is invalid? 


The pillars of prayer are: 

1- The Intention (An-Niyyah) which means setting the right intention for praying each prayer. 

2- The opening takbeer (takbirat Al-Ihram) which means saying ‘Allahu Akbar‘ at the beginning of prayer.

3- The qiyam (standing upright if one has the ability to do so).

4- Reciting Surat Al-Fatihah (Opening Chapter of the Quran) in each rak`ah of prayer. 

5- Making Ruku` (Bowing).

6- Rising from the bowing position. 

7- Making Sujud (Prostration) twice in each rak`ah

8- Sitting between the two prostrations.

9- Sitting while reciting the last tashahhud.

10- The final tashahhud (reciting the testimony of faith)

11- The tasleem (saying ‘Asalamu Alaikum‘ at the end of the prayer)

12- Being calm and feeling at ease while fulfilling each movement is essential to give it its due right; making certain that each body part assumes the appropriate position before one moves from one position to another.

13- Following the right order for each pillar as mentioned above.

Watch this short talk to know the pillars of prayer in details with Dr. Muhammad salah.


Source: Huda Youtube Channel.

Soucre Link

Leave a Reply